• Cross-Border Malaria Initiatives

    Cross-Border Malaria Initiatives

    Lubombo Spatial Development Initiative (LSDI)

    The LSDI is an semi autonomous body that came into being in1999 with a view of promoting development in an area covering 200 000km2 that is being shared by Mozambique, South Africa (SA) and Swaziland, Malaria was considered one of the serious impediments to development in the region and hence the need to take collaborative efforts to fight it so as realize and accelerate the region’s economic potential. The LSDI protocol was signed by the three countries Heads of States and the respective Ministers of Health. The Malaria Control of the LSDI is run by an implementing body of experts, the Regional Malaria Commission (RMC). The aim of the LSDI is to decrease the Malaria burden in the corridor and the objectives are; to reduce malaria incidence, reduce new malaria infections; Develop small- scale risk map and develop GIS for M&E of the program.

    Funding of the program initially came from the government of the three collaborating countries before donors chipped in and these include Business Trust (BT) of SA, BHP, and Global Fund. BT injected R5m before Global Fund started injecting funds in 2003. The South African government continues to pump in R5m on an annual basic from 2003 till to date. More resources have been channeled to the Mozambican LSDI because the other two counties i.e. Swaziland and South Africa have made substantial inroads in controlling Malaria.

    Trans-Kunene Malaria Initiative (TKMI)

    The Republics of Namibia and Angola share a common border that extends east from the Atlantic Ocean to the Zambezi River.  The five administrative areas (known as provinces in Angola and regions in Namibia) on both sides present seasonal manifestations of the illness between the months of November and April every year.  More than 230,000 cases are reported (2008, confirmed through parasitology and clinically diagnosed) among a population of approximately 1.6 million residing in the border area on both sides.  The group  of five regions that are adjacent to the border along the Cunene river which flows between the two Countries is known, by technical consensus, as the “Trans-Kunene” region.  The Trans-Kunene area consists of the provinces of Cunene, namely Santa Clara and Namacunde and in Namibia, the areas of Kunene, Ohangwene, and Omusati.

    Trans-Zambezi Malaria Intiative (TZMI)

    The Trans-Zambezi region is a convergence of 5 countries (Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe) at the narrow Caprivi Strip with a total of 16 districts and a population of about 1.5 million people at risk of malaria. Malaria burden ranges between <10 and 349 malaria cases per 1,000 people at risk, and death rate of under 5 averaged at 3 -51 per 1,000 while some communities in Namibia and Botswana experience epidemics. The region is an attractive destination for international tourism—it was recently described as the largest trans-frontier park in Southern Africa and has significant potential in agriculture, fishing and mining.  In fact, the Caprivi Strip is an economic and conservation corridor inscribed in the SADC economic and tourism integration strategies. Malaria deters economic growth especially in tourism, mining, fishing and agriculture which are the main economic activities in the TZMI region. The TZMI plan will ensure removal of malaria consequently reduced hours of work lost due to malaria illness or funerals leading to increased productivity. Industry will be able to access areas formerly infested with malaria thereby opening more investment opportunities and avenues for employment and economic prosperity. The TZMI which houses one of the Seven Wonders of the World “the Victoria Falls” will attract more tourists and boost economic recovery and poverty alleviation among the local communities in the region.