• Malaria Elimination 8 (E8)

    Malaria Elimination 8 (E8)

    In 2007, during the third session of the African Union (AU) Conference of Ministers of Health, member states launched the Africa Malaria Elimination Campaign, committing to transition eligible countries from malaria control to elimination. Later that year, the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) followed suit, similarly pledging to eliminate malaria from Southern Africa. SADC Ministers of Health approved the SADC Malaria Elimination Strategic Framework and a subsequent Framework, urging member states to identify potential areas for elimination and to develop National Malaria Elimination Strategic Plans.

    Encouraged by the promise that a coordinated regional approach holds for malaria elimination in Southren Africa, the concept of the Malaria Elimination 8 (E8) was proposed as a platform for deliberation on a strategy for a regional to malaria elimination. In 2007, SADC identified six (6) countries as having the greatest potential to eliminate malaria by 2015 - Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland, as well as the island states of Zanzibar and Madagascar. The concept of the E8 brings together the four mainland countries of those six target for malaria elimination (Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland); these four are considered as the front-line countries in a Southren African malaria elimination approach. Their neighbours to the North with relatively higher transmission of malaria - Angola, Mozambique, Zambia and Zimbabwe - constitute the second-line countries of the Malaria Elimination 8 (E8). The March 2009 E8 meeting was the first in a series of high-level coordination and consultation among Ministers and was intended to lead to a practical implementation steps by the National Malaria Control Programmes (NMCPs), regional institutions, and their technical partners.

    E8 Meetings

    SADC Malaria Strategic Frameworks